About the L. Alan Cruikshank River of Time Museum

The River of Time

Recognizing the need to preserve the rich heritage of the Lower Verde River Valley, in 1989 several Fountain Hills residents gathered to form the Fountain Hills and Lower Verde River Valley Historical Society, which in early 2000 became the L. Alan Cruikshank River of Time Museum.

The museum was named after one of the town’s first residents and owner of the local newspaper, Alan Cruikshank. Originally located in Fountain Park, the museum moved to its current location in 2003 when a $3.7m bond issue funded construction of a joint library/museum building on town property, adjacent to the community center.

The Town of Fountain Hills continues to provide the property along with building services, a relationship that has sustained the Museum since it’s opening in 2003.

Our Mission

To engage, entertain, educate, and inspire people about the Lower Verde River Valley through relevant topics and experiences. Using the natural/social sciences of the region we preserve and interpret the past to understand the present and promote future sustainability.

The Fountain at 50 | Time to Celebrate 50 Years of Fountain Hills

On December 15, 1970 the world’s tallest fountain rose above the Lower Verde River Valley for the first time. The fountain was envisioned as the centerpiece of the newest community of a region that had been home to different communities as early as 1,000 BC.

The fountain is no longer the largest in the world, or even in the United States, but Fountain Hills is the largest community of the Lower Verde River Valley. Check out the town’s Fountain at 50 Celebration page to learn all about the wonderful events taking place throughout the celebration year – 2020.

Our Staff & Board

Museum Staff

Cherie Koss, Executive Director

Yvonne Prater, Administrative Assistant


Museum Board of Directors


Sharon Brodhun ​ – President

David Corlett – Vice President

Yvonne Prater – Secretary

Sandra Pattea – Treasurer

Pat Isaacson, Historian


Gerard Bisceglia

Bernadine Burnette, Ex-Officio

Gerry Colbert

Brent Cruikshank

Sharron Grzybowski

Barbara Hansen

Jean Linzer

Bill Myhr, Ex Officio

MaKenzie Marino

Debbie Skehen

Bob Wilson

Contact Us Today!

If you have any questions about the museum and our operation, please don’t hesitate to get in touch. You can call 480-837-2612.